Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Barbie 1022719 BARBIE® Digital Makeover

Transform your iPad® (not included) into a digital makeup mirror for endless beauty play! Use the free downloadable app for mess-free makeovers and to try out virtual makeup that includes eye shadow, lipstick, glitter, and pre-designed looks! It's imaginative, creative play for your stylish techie girl!
Average Customer Rating:
2.727 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Review 1 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nicolehall
Location:Cincinnati OH
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
2 dissappointed littel girls
Date:January 7, 2014
Cons: Low quality
my 2 daughters save their own money to purchase this product and they have had it for 2 days now and are unable to use it. We can not get the facial recognition to work, the wand outline never appears lilke it says it should in the tutorial. The set up seems simple enough but the first step doesn'te even work right. Please help before we return this hunk of junk!
Review 2 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bestbob8
Location:Dubai
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Very bad
Date:January 1, 2014
Cons: Low quality
I really need help I can't detect the face as it only shows the face without the tool , my daughter is very disappointed I really need ur help , is the issue with the software ?
Review 3 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mom2princessgabi
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Date:December 30, 2013
Pros: Durable
My daughter loves the digital makeover mirror, but she gets frustrated with it because it is very sensitive to movement. You have to sit very still to get it to work properly.
Review 4 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CherylL
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Digital Makeover
Date:December 30, 2013
Pros: my girls loved it.
Thankfully in stock on-line. Sold out in stores. My daughter was so happy and excited to play with this.
Review 5 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wumstarr
Location:Toronto
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Can't get the facial recognition to work
Date:December 28, 2013
Cons: Low quality
So disappointed with this product right now cuz I got it for my child as her Christmas gift but couldn't get it to work at all. Stucked on step 3 cuz we couldn't get passed the facial recognition. We connected everything properly but somehow the wand doesn't show on screen for it to become active. We have the latest iPad air, which we think isn't the problem.
Review 6 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissAudrey
Location:Montreal, Qc
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Disappointed
Date:December 27, 2013
A Gift from Santa that gave us problems.
Instructions say to connect to Bluetooth, but the iPad could not find the device. I didn't bring it back yet in hopes to get it going somehow. Or if anyone's has some pointers perhaps in case it's my iPad settings that needs to be adjusted?
I can't give this much rating because my child wasn't able to play with the toy yet.
Review 7 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mom2Kiera
Location:Reston, Manitoba, Canada
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Worst Barbie Product EVER
Date:December 26, 2013
Cons: battery killer, cannot turn off
This item was a Christmas gift, and was a HUGE disappointment! We are on our third set of batteries (3AA's each time). The base with all the colour choices which emits the blue tooth signal has no power switch on it. The result is it drains the batteries within hours since you cannot turn it off.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS, unless you like frustration and disappointment.
Review 8 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tglidd
Location:Bristol, NH
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Christmas present ruined
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work, junk
Out of the box this thing wouldn't work. Paired easy enough w/ the iPad but every NEW pack of batteries viewed as dead on the "mirror" causing the whole thing to shut down. Christmas morning my daughters long awaited present turned into tears. Would have loved some troubleshooting advise but all there is, is a statement saying, "replace batteries when the battery meter in the upper right corner of Barbie Digital Makeover no longer has bars". That's some fantastic advise. Would have been great to have a phone number to call but shockingly, that's not provided either. Thank you for this.
Review 9 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tootsie2101
Location:Ontario, canada
Great purchase
Date:November 5, 2013
I bought this for my niece for her birthday and she loves it! She is a bit younger than the recommended age but I think she will get years of use out of it.
Review 10 for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AuntKerry
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:6-8
Relationship:Family
Very impressive even for adults
Date:October 31, 2013
Pros: High quality, terrific app
Cons: only works with ipads
I was impressed with the high quality of the interactive aspect of this toy. At first I was concerned that my daughter wouldn't sit still enough for the makeup to accurately show on the screen. However I was pleasantly surprised to see that the makeup stayed in place in the image, Even as my daughters head moved. It was very impressive! The makeup appeared to be on her lips, eyelids, etc as she moved. I could play with it myself for hours, never mind the kids
Ratings-Only Reviews for BARBIE® Digital Makeover
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Average Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5