Product Reviews

Barbie 1022719 BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®

This gorgeous luxury home has gotten a glamorous makeover! The three-level Dreamhouse features fully furnished rooms, fun lights and sounds throughout, a center elevator, a separate elevator just for fashions, and — at last! — the ultimate closet!
Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 out of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Review 1 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wesew4
Location:Illinois
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Dreamhouse
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: some what durable
Cons: alittle filmsy
My daughter loves this house. But it is NOT easy to put together when it comes to the elevators. Mattel you need to add a bit more length to the cord.
Review 2 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gramred
doorbell not working
Date:March 6, 2014
Bought this for my daughters birthday, it was difficult to assembly and the doorbell isn't working. I called Matel and they are sending me a new column hopefully it works .
Review 3 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamaw60
Location:Indiana, Kentucky border
Age:3-5
Relationship:Grandparent
Hours of Independent Play time
Date:February 10, 2014
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy assembly
My 5 year old grand daughter loves her Barbie Dreamhouse. She plays for hours with it independently which is a first for her..... her imagination is sparked and she is playing with her Barbies and the Dreamhouse whether at home or at her Papaws where she goes after preschool on the week days...so the Dreamhouse gets toted from home to the grandparents on a regular basis and is holding up well.... Very happy to give her this wonderful gift!!!!
Review 4 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pal17
Location:Jupiter, Fl
Age:3-5
Relationship:Grandparent
Christmas disaster
Date:January 8, 2014
Cons: Low quality
Bought this for our granddaughter for Christmas. It arrived with a broken piece in it and a gray hair. It had obviously been returned .
The dream house was all that my granddaughter wanted for Christmas. However, it was impossible to put together even by someone who usually can assemble anything !
To add insult to injury, the shipping charges were not refunded.
Review 5 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rks115
Location:Lexington, Kentucky
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Very nice update...
Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: High quality, Durable
My daughter has the Dream House from a few years ago and just got this new version for Christmas. It is a wonderful update to a classic toy! It was easy to put together, has wonderful stickers and very cute accessories!
Review 6 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ALittleGirlsDad
Location:Ballston Spa, NY
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
New Barbie Dreamhouse 2013
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: lightweight
Cons: high cost
Once it was together, I was happy. 3 hours is too long to set up. 1 hour alone trying to figure out main elevator assembly. Print on instruction should be larger. The other 9 languages didn't help much, but they were interesting. Some damage discovered to playhouse 3rd floor when unpackaged. All plastic construction makes it light and movable.
Review 7 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dad2013inKSOK
Location:Edmond, OK
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
My daughter's dream/my assembly nightmare.
Date:December 30, 2013
This IS a dream house to play with for our seven year old. However, I was not thinking "happy" dream thoughts as I assembled this house. I had to go to the web site and listen to the instructions to figure out how to proceed on each step. Very cute instructions page with both Ken and Barbie pulling out their hair in frustration. Could it have been any more complicated? I suggest that Mattel try to assemble items prior to selling them.
Review 8 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Berni
Location:New Jersey
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Looks beautiful, but, not too sturdy
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: looks beautiful
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, pricey
This item is made of cardboard and plastic. Though it is beautiful, and my 9 year - old daughter loves it (who wouldn't with two working elevators, bathroom mirror and oven that "light up", "flushing" toilet, "singing" shower music), I doubt that it will stand up to long-term use. The price was high, and I guess I expected more durable material. Set up was tedious, (putting stickers on everything, attaching the columns and assembling the elevator pulley system). The item comes with very few written instructions, mostly utilizing pictures. (I recommend searching the internet and watching a video for assistance with set up). I also recommend seeing the product set up, in real life, before buying it, to help you decide on your purchase.
Review 9 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bigheadone
Location:Warrenton NC
Age:3-5
Relationship:Parent
over priced and poor quality
Date:December 25, 2013
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
Very disappointed with the quality of the product. the instructions were the worst of any toy I have assembled in 30 years of doing this. Thankful for the online help. doorbell doesn't work and the side walls don't stay in like they should. Its probably worth about 50 dollars tops. My 4 year old loves it though so that's what matters. In conclusion I would say that I am extremely unhappy with the quality of the product!
Review 10 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntSanta
Location:Mississippi
Age:6-8
Relationship:Family
New Barbie Dreamhouse!
Date:December 25, 2013
This Dreamhouse is exactly that....a real dream come true for my niece from Santa. I will have to admit that when I opened the box...I was intimidated by the assembly required. The directions contained with the house are so small,,,you need a magnifying glass to read them! Then I saw a picture of Barbie saying to go online and watch as they put the house together. The instruction video was great! The detail of the house is wonderful along with 2 elevators and all of the working sounds included. I really love the "singing in the shower." My niece and her little brother will enjoy many hours playing with this house. I would rate this house a 10 that is well worth the purchase price. If only I'd had this house when I was a kid!
Review 11 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddkobi
Location:Lakeland, FL
Age:3-5
Relationship:Family
My daughter loves it!
Date:December 23, 2013
Pros: Durable
Large enough for multiple friends to play! (and mommy too!)
Review 12 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Monkeyboy1707
Location:Wyoming, New York
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Date:December 22, 2013
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, takes awhile to assemble
Its ok. for the amount of money spent it should be of better quality. And our toilet doesn't work. A corner of the top floor came broken in the box. Elevator string doesn't work the best.
Review 13 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glow78
Location:Washington dc
Age:3-5
Relationship:Parent
Great buy
Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: High quality
Very nice to the point I would want to live in it... It is every girls dream!!
Review 14 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
memeof6
Location:new orleans,la
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
quality not there
Date:December 21, 2013
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
disappointed with instruction sheet.we went online and found rather easy directions.
Review 15 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
christine
Barbie Dream House
Date:December 21, 2013
Cons: Not durable
The house is filled with things for girls to play with. Be aware that assembly will likely take hours. The plastic is not strong either, so handle each piece with care, otherwise it could break and then you are in trouble. Once assembled, I believe this house will last for years to come. Have only had it for a few weeks, but it has had a lot of use already.
Review 16 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaRose
Location:Laredo, Texas
Age:6-8
Relationship:Family
Date:December 18, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
Great costumer service. Product arrived as planned. I will buy from Mattel again & again. The Barbie dream house is for one of my granddaughters & I also ordered several barbies & accessories. Everything is here before Christmas. I loved dealing with companies as professional as Mattel. I will recommend this Company.
Review 17 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmorgan
Location:MICHIGAN
Age:6-8
Relationship:Friend
CHRISTMAS GIFT WORTH GIVING
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: Durable
EXCELLENT ITEM, A LITTLE PRICEY PERHAPS BUT APPEARS TO BE WELL MADE AND LASTING
Review 18 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cece22claus
Age:Family
Relationship:Grandparent
big mistake
Date:December 15, 2013
Cons: Not durable
the dream house I had as a child was by far better then the new version. it was hard to put together most of the pieces did not snap and stay t if the elevator string is to taunt with no play for a five year old to use the very top floor side walls don't stay connected
Review 19 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WildlifeMJ
Location:Western Kentucky
Age:3-5
Relationship:Family
Happiest Great-Niece
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
Arrived just as promised. No hassles with any of the process. More than happy with Mattel company.
Review 20 for BARBIE® DREAMHOUSE®
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buttercup
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:3-5
Relationship:Family
Not more for the money
Date:December 14, 2013
Pros: alot of playtime anticipated
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, poor instructions
I know when my daughter receives this for Christmas she will be excited. That is the only thing worth the money.
Assembly was difficult even watching YouTube video. Pieces would not snap in properly or stay in once placed. Stickers came out of the box ripped or damaged. Elevator is very difficult to complete.
I am unhappy with the quality of the plastic and cardboard and believe instructions should be more clear.
1 2 >>>