Product Reviews

Hot Wheels 1022514 HOT WHEELS® Car Maker

Boys can build, customize, and race their own Hot Wheels cars from scratch! In a matter of minutes, this car-making machine transforms a colored wax stick into a molded vehicle, which you can decorate with stickers and attach to a chassis!
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
20 out of 26(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Review 1 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nana57
Location:Williamsport, Pa.
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
replacement kits are not available
Date:July 24, 2014
Cons: Low quality, too high priced for product
Bought this for my grandson age 6. He loves it but he could only make 3 cars because the kit only comes with 3 chassis. I have looked at all the toy stores and they do not carry them. I will not purchase any thing from this company again unless additional kits are available. this was a great disappointment.
Review 2 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lizalexant
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Date:January 24, 2014
Pros: High quality
Cons: can not get refills molds or extra chassis
My son loves making the cars. It is very easy for him and he is 7. My only complaint is that it comes with 3 chassis and you can not buy any more anywhere - not at Mattel, not in stores, and not on line. That Is very disappointing for a product that was so hard to find for Christmas and can only have 3 cars at time. I can't even find more wax or molds. Very disappointed.
Review 3 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
60seconds
Location:Bridgeport, CT
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
My son loves this product BUT
Date:January 6, 2014
Pros: Durable, son loves to make his own
Cons: only 3 chasis and you can't buy extra, tie dye car colored car not as pictured on box, extra molds sold out everywhere
Its very easy to handle, easy to work with although it is a little misleading. My son was lead to believe that the car would come out in 2 different colors as its pictured on the box not in Tie-dye effect for uniqueness. The car maker comes prepared to make 10 cars but it only brings 3 Chasis. Highly disappointed because the chasis are not available to buy separately either. Why not bring 10 chasis for umm lets say the 10 cars you can build. The stickers also don't stick very well, never mind that there aren't many of them. It's also better for the car to completely cool off before you take it out of the mold. That way it pratically pops out.
Review 4 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noah
Location:fedrickson Wa.
Age:3-5
Relationship:Parent
Even works for a 3yr old
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Durable
Cons: takes longer then said
He is three and seen at store and ads. Good job stores and tv ads.He just wanted to have it. With tracks and cars I said your too young we will get for you when your older. And turns out I got it for him and works for him yes younger then said. Just have to sit with him a bit. Just have close by it will tell you heating, ready, cooling, ready.And time it takes 12-20 not 8-10 like said might be why for older kids. only draw back stickers and need more frames not three to race side by side. Aka dad. And mom is better car maker then me.
Review 5 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leanis
Location:Murrieta, Ca.
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
My grandson loves this.....but
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: High quality
I bought this for my grandson for Christmas and he loves it.....but.....he's missing the little tool that comes with it. How can I get him the tool for it?
Review 6 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
eeyore14623
Location:Houston, TX
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
One Happy Little Boy
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: High quality
Cons: stickers and chasis need to be able to purchase
My son was upset when this item was sold out everywhere. I lucked into one today he was so happy. We made 2 cars already and racing them on his triple track. My 6 year old is loving this item that we work on together.
Review 7 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maleficent1974
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
My son is obsessed!!
Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: refills not easy to find
My son has played with this nonstop. He has made about 10 cars so far.I would have given it 5 stars but my only concern is being able to find refills for it. Other than that it is awesome!!
Review 8 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MomOf4plus1
Location:Lakeport, CA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Disappointed little boy
Date:December 29, 2013
Cons: doesn't work as described
This was purchased for my 6 year old son. We have went through almost all of the included wax sticks with not a single car body to show for it. :-( We have followed all of the instructions to a tee, pulling the arm slow, fast, etc. All of the wax puddles on top of the mold and doesn't even enter the actual car body chamber. My son is extremely disappointed to say the least and so are we. I hope that the makers of this item will extend some sort of explanation so we can use this toy as intended or refund our money.
Review 9 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sadinsc
Location:sc
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
need to sell chassis
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Durable
son loves the car maker but wish you could just buy the chassis by themselves. you can not play with the molds if not on a car. please consider selling just the chassis.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vettestyle
Location:Reese Mi.
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Not all that great!
Date:December 28, 2013
Cons: Low quality
Product looks way cool and love the voice commands......BUT ours just won't make cars! Given this is it's only purpose kinda makes it junk. It may be defective but goes through all the steps and when finished we end up with a goober of wax on top of the mold and none in the car body it's self.......good luck with yours ours was junk!
Review 11 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krrm1016
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Sad son at home
Date:December 27, 2013
My son was Elated to get the car maker for Christmas. We plugged it I and followed all directions to a tee, but after several painstaking hours of trying the wax just kept jamming up in the mold. We wasted nearly every wax stick trying for one car, unsuccessfully. My son who is 7 is heartbroken. I can return the maker but EVERY store in my area is sold out, so there is no hope in getting a replacement. Super frustrating! I will be contacting Mattel to see if they will replace it for him. Disappointed for sure.
Review 12 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nanapapa
Need more chassis
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: Durable
Not very much fun when you only can make three cars. Need to sell chassis by themselves.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moms4Monsters
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Huge Hit
Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable, a lot of fun
Bought this for my 10 year old Hot Wheel Fanatic. He loves it and right away made about 8 cars. I like that it doesnt run on batteries. The vehicles come out better than we'd expected - they almost look like they're made of metal. Came with plenty of wax sticks to get started. The instructions are not as precise as they could be - we had to go online and watch a YouTube demonstration and on this website to see troubleshooting tips. But once we figured everything out it was a breeze. My only suggestion would be that the directions should explain exactly how a solid car is made because most vehicles will be a mixture of 2 colors, which is actually really cool, but a solid car requires a little planning ahead with a minimum of 3 sticks of one color.
Review 14 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beverly
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Sons loved this until the Supplies ran out
Date:December 26, 2013
My sons loved making their own cars. But once the wax sticks and stickers are gone. The toy is useless. Only comes with 3 chassis's. Can't even order additional supplies on the website. Not worth the purchase price for only a few uses.
Review 15 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ponch
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Hot wheels car maker
Date:December 10, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
Great service from your company! My grandson will be very happy on Christman morning!
Review 16 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aogblady
Location:Ohio
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Christmas Gift
Date:December 3, 2013
Pros: Durable
I bought this as a Christmas present for my almost 6 year old. I believe he is going to love it! He asked for it and it was out of stock everywhere I looked. Was really glad to find it IN stock at Mattel. Needless to say we have not used it yet (Not Christmas yet) but I can say it looks like a lot of fun. I am sure he will want to play with it for a long time! It seems to be durable. Only thing semi-negative would be that it would be nice if it came with more chassis instead of just 3.
Review 17 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
85EagleChick
Location:Ithaca, NY
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Just one more comment about this product!
Date:November 26, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: a little high priced
Just wanted to add also, I see a lot of reviews complaining about the wait time for the melting then the cool down process and I have to say, my boys were a little impatient and not too enthused with the wait, but in this age of immediate gratification want it now garbage, I think it teaches the value of patience and not rushing a process to achieve an end result. Some things you can not rush and I think children should learn the value of patience and that not everything is ready when you demand it immediately or faster-that is not realistic in the real world. I did already review the product and I think it is great. I would recommend it. I see that some people have received this product as a free sample and I wish I were that lucky! Any time mattel wants to send me free samples they are more than welcome to and I will gladly review them and give my opinion!
Review 18 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
85EagleChick
Location:Ithaca, NY
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Hot Wheels Car Maker-Definitely a fun toy!
Date:November 26, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable, very fun, joy of learning mold injection
Cons: sometimes the wax doesn't fill the mold completely, a little more expensive than toys i normally buy
I wish this product was around when I was a kid! Our sons love it! The only issue we had was wanting more chassis in the kit and also a few times the wax didn't fill the mold as eager young hands were in a hurry and didn't make sure the wax was positioned in the slot far enough. However, redneck ingenuity at it's finest remedied the half poured mold with a careful hand and a lighter. I had no problems melting pieces of scrap wax carefully and replacing the mold top until cool again. (Please do not allow children to try that!) I contacted customer service with my thoughts of adding more chassis pieces and was very pleased with their reply! They have great customer service and we will be purchasing plenty of wax refills and also more molds to create even more car and truck fun! The kids love picking their own color combinations! I hope to see some swirled color wax refills in the future or a mold to reuse the scrap wax pieces! I would definitely recommend this product!
Review 19 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steviesmom
Location:Lawrenceville, NJ
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Slow start but lots of fun
Date:November 24, 2013
Pros: High quality, great fun value
Cons: takes about 15 min to make the car, will need new supplies often
This was given to my 7 yr old son, who tried to use it by himself and became frustrated. Of course when he requested help, I had to figure out what he did. First of which was it wasn't plugged in. LOL But when I tried to follow the instruction booklet, it just kept saying cooling and the door wouldn't lock. So, I went to the website and watched the instruction videos....MUCH MORE HELPFUL! You just plug the machine in....no mold in place and it TELLS you what to do. Now we are having a blast!
Review 20 for HOT WHEELS® Car Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couponqueen
Great toy
Date:November 13, 2013
My son is 7. He needed a little help at first but quickly got the hang of it. He seems to really like it.
1 2 >>>