Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Monster High MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts

Build the coolest ghouls, just like the students at Monster High! Kids will love expanding the monster-making playtime with these scary-chic add-ons, including a streaked wig, arms with harpy wings, and fierce fashions!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Review 1 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heftysmurf76
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:13+
Relationship:Family
Monster High Harpy CAM
Date:March 17, 2013
Pros: Durable
Cons: missing parts
The colors on this set are somewhat dull, especially considering she's a bird, which are usually known for their colorfulness. The forearms are the neatest aspect of this set, with a huge wingspan, allowing for a great deal of play-ability. Perhaps the biggest flaw of this set, is that it does not come with a torso or upper arms. So you either have to sacrifice one of your other monsters torso and arms, or buy a new set and end up with a lot of extra parts.
Review 2 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jules0steve
Location:Kentucky, USA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Monster High Add On
Date:March 1, 2013
Pros: my daughter loves it so far her all time favorite
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
I really think the Monster High Collection's Quality really needs to continue improving.
Review 3 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyRoss
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:9-12
Relationship:Grandparent
Great Idea
Date:February 26, 2013
I liked the concept, and the parts pretty well conveyed that concept. My granddaughter knew what a harpy was and wanted the "New monster" to play with, she has bought other add on packs so knew she needed a torso from another doll, no problems there... And playtime went great. Quality could be a bit higher but overall a very good purchase.
Review 4 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandma2Kayla2
Location:Frenchtown, NJ
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Great add on for Monster High fans
Date:February 22, 2013
Pros: High quality
Cons: no torso
My granddaughter loves this new character in her Monster High collection.
Review 5 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
swancrossing18
Location:Texas
Age:13+
Great Monster but it really needs a torso
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: High quality
Cons: incomplete
This is a great doll- or at least it would be if it was a whole doll. The item really needs a torso to feel complete and to have play-ability. If Mattel still provided torso packs this would help with the problem. Without the packs the cost of making the Harpy a complete doll is too high. The wig on this doll fits well.
Review 6 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MHPrince
Location:Wildwood, MO
Age:13+
Relationship:Friend
Adding a little mythology to my monster collection
Date:February 20, 2013
Cons: poor quality wig, no torso, no upper/lower limbs
When photos first leaked of this doll I wanted her so bad! Finally Mattel had her for sale on their site and I bought one asap. When she finally arrived I opened her and tried to assemble her. After trying multiple CAM torsos and limbs I finally decided on the vampire torso. Put together she is fantastic and I really like having her in my collection.
Review 7 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie43
Location:Lindsay, CA
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Great Product
Date:February 18, 2013
Pros: High quality
Again, another great add on to the create a monster line. A must have for any Monster High collector.
Review 8 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babygirl567
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Monster High does it again!
Date:February 17, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
These add on packs are fantastic. Well made and lots of fun. My daughter loves these. I love her playing using her imagination rather than being tied to a computer game.
Review 9 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gareee
Location:Waynesville, NC
Age:Family
Relationship:Family
Harpy looks great, but has some issues
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: great character design
Cons: poor material selection, poor wig design, lack of display stand
The new build a monster harpy looks great, and has excellent sculpting, but has some issues.
First, like ALL the build a monster figures, she does not come with a stand. So of course once assembled, shes gonna lay there like a imp of harpy feathers. Inclusion of a stand would make these MUCH more attractive for display purposes.
Second and more troubling, is the forearms are solid heavy plastic. While the sculpt on them is outstanding, because of the weight, the figure's arms will end up restng on the ground regadless of whatever pose you select.
(Mattel: Look at large appendages being added to base limbs made of out one of the many foam options out there... it looks like plastic when done properly, but weights nothing at all, eiminating this problem completely.)
Also, because of the forearm weight, the first set we got ended up with a broken arm peg within a half hour. The replacement mattel sent out (VERY quickly, I might add) is fine so far, but then the arms are, as mentioned, just resting on the ground.
(The customer service on the replacement part was outstanding!)
So the Harpy was really a mixed bag for us... great design and appearance, but the lack of stand and the heavy forearm issues make this one of the less attractive build a monster sets.
(Also, something they still have not gotten right is the included wigs. They never easily style properly, and the thckness of the wig base always sticks out like a sore thumb.)
They need to re engineer the wig bases to have a thin more invisible lip.
Review 10 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kper
One of the best create-a-monsters
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: cool, unique
Cons: Not durable, hair requires styling
This is one of my favorite create-a-monsters. Its wing arms are one-of-a-kind among Monster High dolls, and its legs and shoes are unique and very cool.
It's not without some flaws, though. The wings are quite heavy, so it's hard to pose (the arms lose to gravity). Also, be careful whenever bending the wings at the joint; it's possible to break it simply by posing it if you're not careful due to the wings' weight and stiffness of the arm joint.
The wig requires styling, or it'll look bad. Just like the 3-eyed ghoul, the wig lacks bangs, which means the plastic scalp cap is very visible on the forehead. Pour boiling water on the wig and style it, and you'll be able to hide that, but it isn't easy.
None of the current create-a-monster torso sets will match it exactly, but the Vampire, Dragon, and Cat torso/arm/leg parts are close enough.
It's a great doll to display. But it takes a bit of work to make it look its best, between that and the wing joins it might not be good for younger kids. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who can't play carefully.
Review 11 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chibi
Location:NC
Age:Family
Relationship:Friend
Still not a full doll
Date:February 9, 2013
Like all add on CAM packs this dose not have a torso. No torsos that mattel offers match the skin ton of this so a good looking full doll can be made.
Review 12 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Petalene
Location:California
Age:Family
Relationship:Family
Add on packs not a goodt value
Date:February 9, 2013
Pros: cool idea
Cons: not a complete toy, doesn't match the other cam colors
This is an add on packs. I knew it didn't include the torso or upper limbs, but I didn't realize how annoying it is not to have a complete doll. I get that they want you to mix and match the pieces, but I don't always want to do that. The idea of the harpy is cool, but you don't have a playable toy right out of the box. I have a couple of starter CAM sets but none of the colors are close enough. If they put a matching torso and upper limbs, I would give this a much higher rating. I won't be buying any more add on packs which is too bad because some of them are really neat.
Review 13 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matt70
Location:California
Age:13+
Relationship:Friend
Great!
Date:February 8, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: wish there were enough parts for a whole doll
Another great addition to the Monster High line!
The Harpy add on set is so cute and detailed-- feather and claw- like shoe sculpt, amazingly detailed wings and arms/legs. The face is sweet and has a delicate bird-like quality. I thought the arms would be too heavy to pose with the addition of the wings, but mine seems to hold a pose wonderfully.
I do wish that these individual add on sets also came with enough parts to make a full doll (torso, upper arms and legs) , the way that the regular Create a Monster sets now have the parst to make 2 full dolls, but in general a great new set.
Review 14 for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandylee
Location:pittsbrugh pa
Age:Family
Relationship:Family
I love Mattel
Date:February 7, 2013
Pros: High quality, prices
Mattel always have just what I am looking for and at great prices
Ratings-Only Reviews for MONSTER HIGH® Create-A-Monster Harpy Add-On Parts
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 6
Quality: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5