Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Girl Tech PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7

Girls can safely store their secrets by choosing two passwords and three levels of security! This stylish electronic journal features a voice-activated lock, hidden compartment, and invisible ink pen!
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Review 1 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BabyGurl79
Location:Butler, PA
Age:13+
Relationship:Parent
It's bogus
Date:March 29, 2013
Pros: Durable
I bought this for my teenage daughter for Christmas because her brothers kept stealing and reading her diaries so I thought it be cool to get her one that was suppose to be impossible for them to open. It's bogus though because it opens with everyone's voice. There's no secrecy and we've tried everything to get it to only recognize her voice but even then her brothers could open it just with their voices and even her dad got it open.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cjshadow
Date:March 1, 2013
BOUGHT THIS FOR 9 Y/O DAUGHTER. COULD NOT GET PASSWORD TO WORK. NOT WITH MY VOICE OR HER VOICE. SO WE DON'T HAVE IT SET FOR PASSWORD. WE COULD HAVE BOUGHT A REGULAR JOURNAL. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TOYTOY03
Location:TEXAS
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
VERY DISAPPOINTED
Date:January 25, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: Low quality
BOUGHT THIS FOR 9 Y/O DAUGHTER. COULD NOT GET PASSWORD TO WORK. NOT WITH MY VOICE OR HER VOICE. SO WE DON'T HAVE IT SET FOR PASSWORD. WE COULD HAVE BOUGHT A REGULAR JOURNAL. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Review 4 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Milo
Password Journal 7
Date:January 8, 2013
Pros: Durable, good loooking item
Great value and excellent product fo girls of any age
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mad1
Location:Montana
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
happy with purchase
Date:January 8, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable, fun
granddaughter enjoys the journal and likes to change her secret password often. It works well and promotes her writing skills. Just what she wanted. Thanks!!
Review 6 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squick
Date:January 7, 2013
My daughter received this as a Christmas present and can not put it down. She loves it!
Review 7 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
breesmom
Location:Florida
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Cute but ....frustrating
Date:January 4, 2013
Cons: Low quality
My daughter has been wanting a password journal and loved it on sight. She had fun putting in her password and checking out all the features. LOVES the hidden compartment, and secret ink.
Downfall - though easy to reset, the password lock is not good. she will repeat it over and over again and it won't open. Reset it and try again. then it will work once or twice more and then the same problem . expensive item and with the frustrations it is not being used as much as I think it would had it worked better.
Review 8 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dew1943
Location:New Hampshire
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Great item except
Date:January 1, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable, 8 yr. old loved it
Cons: voice recognition a problem
Great-granddaughter loved it. only problem- voice recognition was poor. She had to repeat excessive times to get voice password to save.
Review 9 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FivefortheLord
Location:Oklahoma
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Pretty Good
Date:December 31, 2012
Pros: Durable
Cons: password feature not up to par.
At first, I thought we would end up returning this product. The password function can be difficult to set and also it is difficult to say the password the right tone after it is set. But after a million tries my daughter gets it to work. She doesn't seem to mind having to try over and over. (If it was me, I would have given up.) The magic ink is really neat. The appearance is eye appealing. So not a 5 star product but we would still buy it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jillyle
Location:Sacramento,CA
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
PASSWORD JOURNAL
Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: High quality
This was a gift and it has been 5 days and no one in the house understands how to operate it. Too complicated so it takes the fun out of it. It needs to be simplified so that it can be a better product. I am thinking seriously of returning it.
Review 11 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7777M
Location:COLUMBUS, OH
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
GREAT JOURNAL
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: High quality
MY GRANDAUGHTER THOUGHT IT WAS A GREAT GIFT. SHE GOT IT ALREADY TO ENTER HER ENTRY FOR CHRISTMAS NIGHT.
Review 12 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SdFarmWife
Location:South Dakota
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Date:December 25, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
Daughter likes it, but struggles at times to get exact same sound of the password to make it work sometimes. Has an English accent to the woman's voice on the programming which she thought was strange!
Review 13 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wilkes
Location:Ooltewah, TN
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Great Gift
Date:December 17, 2012
Pros: High quality
My 8 year old daughter was so excited about having this stylish journal for her birthday present. She loves it!
Review 14 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BestAuntieEver
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Family
Best Gift for Girls 6-10
Date:December 15, 2012
My step daughter got this for her 7th birthday and still loves it, she's 9 now. This is my go-to-gift for girls that age. I have given it to two of my nieces who love it. They love the invisible ink pen and the secrect compartment drawer. This is the best gift for any girl between the ages of 6-10.
Review 15 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
syates
Location:Carrollton, GA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Date:November 16, 2012
Pros: Durable
I have tried to purchase this journal many times at different stores and they never seemed to have it. My Granddaughter will be so surprised
Review 16 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cat4
Location:Urbanna, va
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
waste of money
Date:October 9, 2012
Cons: Low quality
I bought this for my daughter's birthday and all it has done is frustrate the heck out of my daughter. My daughter picked a password the journal accepted it but it will not consistantly open for her and will tell her that password does not match. I would not recommend this!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BumbleBeeMe
Location:MO
Age:9-12
Relationship:Friend
Okay
Date:June 19, 2012
Cons: Low quality
I got the journal for myself and was very disappointed. If you set the password with any background noise at all, it becomes part of your password and you have to reset it. Otherwise you have to go where its perfectly silent to open your journal. Also, the ink pen ran out of invisible ink so I could no longer write. I never could get into the storage and about the only thing that worked was the MP3 hookup. I strongly advise that you do not buy this product.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PASSWORD JOURNAL® 7
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5