Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Hot Wheels 1022514 HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black

Show off thrilling Hot Wheels racing footage!
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Review 1 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
warrsd
Location:Missouri
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Micro
Date:January 8, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
On Christmas my grandson found alot of things to do with this video car. It seems to fit the regular track just fine. He likes to play with it on his hotwheels city units. And then he edits the video on the computer....
Review 2 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dbennet
Location:colorado
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Date:January 5, 2013
Pros: Durable
Quality is good but it is very tiny and not easy for my grandchild who is 7 he would have preferred a camera. It may be more appropriate for an older child, you have to charge it frequently with your computer.
Review 3 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ycal19
Location:Crossroads, TX
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Fun, but has limits
Date:January 4, 2012
Pros: Durable, easy to use
Cons: too big for a lot of hot wheels track
My six year old got this for Christmas. He has had a lot of fun with it. It's easy to use and was easy for him to figure out. The video quality is acceptable (as long as its used in a brightly lit room) and it's easy to get the videos onto the computer.
My biggest issue is its size. It's thicker and longer than a typical hot wheels car. That means that it won't fit on a lot of the track. My son also got the complete set of wall track and this car won't even get past the first ramp. It's just too big.
Review 4 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phillydan
My Daughter Loves It!
Date:January 2, 2012
This is a great product. The quality was better than I had expected. It took a little while to put it together, but it wasn't too difficult. I would definitely recommend it.
Review 5 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomOntheRun
Location:Louisiana
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Video Fun
Date:January 2, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: price
My son got this car for Christmas. It was easy to figure out and set up. He loves to video and play it back on the computer.
Review 6 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nkki
don't pay for gift wrapping
Date:December 27, 2011
There is nothing wrong with the racer but the way we recived it is another story. I had paid to have it gift wrapped and when we opened the box and saw how it was wrapped we were very, very disappointed. It looked like a two year old wrapped it!!! It was ripped all over and the tape wasn't holding, I had to re-wrap it so it was presentable. I would suggest wrapping item yourself and save $5.
Review 7 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lblb
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:3-5
Relationship:Parent
Extremely fun with skateboard, bike, and scooter
Date:December 26, 2011
Pros: High quality, fun factor as a camera for a car enthusiast
Cons: small picture dark indoors ok on a sunny day
This is a very fun toy for young skateboarders, bikers, etc. Took to the skatepark on Christmas Day. Child is 5, can easily work it and help from mom and dad editing on computer. Value buying directly from Mattel.
Review 8 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Toola74
Location:Wisconsin
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Doesn't work
Date:December 25, 2011
Gave this to my 9 year old for Christmas and it doesn't work. Charged the car for over an hour and the directions suggested and no go...now I have to figure out how to send it back.
Review 9 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orangebaby
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
super Cute
Date:December 23, 2011
I love this toy... It gives my video game obssesed child something to do with out videogames... and since it is electonic he still gets his fix!
Review 10 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bsblmom
Location:Alabama
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
awesome purchase
Date:December 20, 2011
Pros: High quality
Looked at these several times in the store and never did purchase one. Found on the Mattel site, bought it, and have enjoyed watching my son have a ball with it. Would recommend for any child. Would be good if they even made a pink one for girls.
Review 11 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LauraS
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Fun Toy For Electronics Savvy Kids
Date:November 11, 2011
Pros: Durable
My son is 7, and so far, he's had a lot of fun with this. The LCD window is nice because I don't have to hook it up to the computer every time he makes a video. It does require a little more care than the regular hot wheels cars, but overall it is pretty durable and can take some rough play. I don't think it would be good for a younger child or one who doesn't love electronics like mine does, because it would just mean that parents would have to spend hours setting things up.
Review 12 for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steph
Location:Portland, OR
Age:3-5
Relationship:Family
Video Racer is Great!
Date:October 20, 2011
Pros: Durable, easy for child to use
My 5 1/2 year old son had been wanting this toy ever since he saw it on the Hot Wheels website. He used his own birthday money to buy it and is so happy to have gotten it! He is very computer oriented, so navigating the toy (ie plugging it into the computer, downloading, recording, play back video) is very easy for him. He loves that he can strap it to his bike helmet and take it along with him to record his ride. I would definitely buy this for somebody else, but I feel the child would need to be saavy with the computer and like the digital aspect of it.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HOT WHEELS® VIDEO RACER™ Micro Camera Car - Black
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 6
Quality: 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Play value: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5