Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Barbie Reality BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™

Stylistas will love coloring and washing Barbie doll's hair!
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Review 1 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaofDestynie
Location:Chatham Ontario
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Excellent Choice
Date:November 10, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
My 7 year old seen this on TV for a month and wanted nothing else for her birthday. I was pleasantly surprised buying online gave me more accessories than I would have gotten buying from a store. Everyone is satisfied with this purchase.
Review 2 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
canadianmom
Location:Canada
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Very cute but did not work exactly as shown
Date:July 2, 2012
From the moment my daughter saw this on TV she has wanted it, so I purchased it for her 6th birthday. She was so excited when she opened it and started playing "hairdresser" right away.
The toy looks great and the color crayons worked perfectly. My daughter has had a blast creating "new hairdos" for Barbie.
Unfortunately, the soap dispenser did not pump the soap. I thought maybe my shampoo was too thick so tried some baby shampoo - still did not work. We ended up just washing the dolls hair in the regular sink.
Overall, my daughter likes the set and plays with it, it is just too bad the little shampoo dispenser did not work.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dejohn
Location:New York
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
good toy
Date:April 7, 2012
Pros: Durable
Cons: the sink could be bigger
My granddaughter has lots of fun with this toy. She just loves washing the doll's hair in the sink that really works.
Review 4 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrschief
Location:Ohio
Age:3-5
Relationship:Family
Great mid-price gift
Date:April 5, 2012
Pros: High quality
Purchased as a gift for my god-child. Ordered directly from the site as I had no luck finding this in any of our local stores. Set was as pictured, shipping was fast, and packaged well. She loves it!
Review 5 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thingamigig
Location:Sparrows Point, MD
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Good
Date:April 2, 2012
Pros: fun
Cons: wobbly
It's a neat idea but a little wobbly and messy. My daughter loves it!
Review 6 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Momof7yrold
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Good. Some suggestions for use
Date:January 2, 2012
Cons: lot of effort
At first frustrating. Have to pump water a gazillion times to get it going. Once going, works fine. Shampoo- you must turn the pink knob to the left on the pump, to switch the pump to the shampoo. I would suggest watering down your shampoo before putting into the shampoo drawer. When pumping , if you don't feel resistance, if it pumps too easily,
you need to turn further the left or right to line it up better.
In the end, it sold my daughter with the promise she can use it in the tub/shower. Otherwise would have returned it . Not much bang for the buck unless you have a very patient child.
Review 7 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickers
Location:Great Falls, MT.
Age:3-5
Relationship:Grandparent
Entertaining Barbie for a child
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: High quality, Durable
My Granddaughter loves to do everyones hair & when she got this she was so excited, (& so were we) that she could go beyond doing our hair, and coloring hair on a doll. She loves styling her dolls with clothes, and now she can style her doll with colorful hair too. It's great!!
Review 8 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BostonMom1
Location:Boston, MA
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
A Great Beauty Salon
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: High quality, Durable
My daughter had seen ads for this product and asked for it for Christmas. I could not find it in any store so I ordered it on line - not sure how good it would be - without seeing it. It was great, good quality, easy set-up and she's been giving her dolls regular shampoos and color treatments since. A good choice for girls who are into Barbies and beauty.
Review 9 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Frisky
Location:Tulsa
Fun
Date:December 30, 2011
My daughter is enjoying this Barbie toy. She has fun coloring her hair.
Review 10 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shelby
Sending it back :(
Date:December 26, 2011
Pros: Durable
Cons: water sprayers didn't work well at all
My granddaughter was really looking forward to playing with this toy but the water didn't work very well. One of the "sprayers" didn't work at all. You'd be better off not using the sink feature. I'm sending it back.
Review 11 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jenny123
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Great product
Date:December 22, 2011
Pros: Durable, High quality, water friendly
My 10 year old daughter received this as an early Christmas gift. She plays with it almost continuously. So far the markers are holding up great. But if they do run out, she has already been using her watercolor markers on Barbie's hair, so we will never run out of markers or colors!! No refills are required! Also, since this Barbie is water friendly, my daughter takes her with her when she has her bath and shampoos her hair there also.
Love this toy!!!
Review 12 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fphjr
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Refills Not Available
Date:November 28, 2011
Cons: replacement color pens not available
While my daughter enjoyed this toy, it value is limited. In their infinate wisdom, Mattel does not sell replacement color pens. So, once the highlight pens are empty, this set is useless. My daughter does not play with it anymore -- she would if we could get her new color pens to do the hair coloring.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamaw
Location:Indiana
Age:9-12
Relationship:Grandparent
great item
Date:October 7, 2011
This is something my granddaughter wanted. She spends hours playing with and has a great time.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BARBIE® HAIRTASTIC™ COLOR & WASH SALON™
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5
Quality: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Play value: 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5