Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mattel.

Hot Wheels 1022514 HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit

Blast off in an experiment full of racing action!
Average Customer Rating:
4.102 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
40 out of 49(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Review 1 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Curlytoes
Location:Cincinnati, Oh.
Age:6-8
Relationship:Friend
Great Deal!@@
Date:August 2, 2013
Pros: Durable, wonderful service!
I was missing a car a first shipment. They sent one out the next day no problem. My boys love it so much they want to get one for me as a birthday gift!
Review 2 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:So Cal
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
Really looks like fun, but....
Date:June 23, 2013
Pros: High quality, Durable
I am not playing with, nor have I opened the box. We are waiting to play until the grandkids visit. But, I trust it will be a wonder for them, and a great memory for us.
Review 3 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sizzler
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Not very impressed
Date:May 27, 2013
I am a hot wheels collector and got this for my son and I to try out...looks very cool, build quality is excellent. But for the amt of mess it makes each time (On you, on the ground, and for the 50 ft it does go, you must clean and dry before trying again. Box art work is great as well. Wishing I just kept it in the box unopened at this point
Review 4 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MomFirst
Location:Indiana
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Okay product
Date:January 26, 2013
Pros: educational
Cons: messy
My son loves science, so Santa brought this. It ws fun to do, but it was messy. The liquid has nowhere to go but on the floor when the rocket takes off. We've put it away until the weather gets warmer so we can do this outside.
Review 5 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FOURM
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Great
Date:January 3, 2013
Pros: Durable
Cons: difficult to release
My son used this to do his 3rd grade science project and won 2nd place! We had a blast doing it. I would recommend finding a large straight area to do this. My one problem with it was that it was difficult initially for my son to stomp on to release the rocket.
Review 6 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanaw
Location:Whitma, Ma
Age:Family
Relationship:Grandparent
Rocket Car
Date:December 14, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
Great toy. It was easy to set up, fill up and release. It was great fun for the kids. They enjoyed watching the car race up the driveway, plus it was great exercise for them to get the car and do it all over again.
Review 7 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michme
Location:Indiana
Age:13+
Relationship:Family
Great for my biggest kid.
Date:December 12, 2012
Pros: High quality
Cons: got to buy fule
Good Good
Review 8 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KittieB
Well Worth IT
Date:December 12, 2012
Pros: Durable
The kids love cars and fizzy objects. So together they loved it when I bought 3 of them for all of the kids. worked great.
Review 9 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BadWolf
Location:Delaware
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Great fun for the whole Family
Date:November 26, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not really a con ///should be used with an adult..
!!We bought this last year for my 8 year old...We did this with him and the whole family got invovled...It is great!!!
We had Fun...I would buy some extra fuel so that you can use it over and over,,,,,You cant beat the price,,,,By far the best toy for the money...
Review 10 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginginsgators
Location:Callahan, FL
Age:13+
Relationship:Grandparent
Perfect Choice
Date:November 8, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
This is just perfect for my Grandson, who just loves to watch his cars go really fast.
Review 11 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scooter
Location:Illinois
Age:6-8
Relationship:Family
Rocket Car
Date:November 7, 2012
Pros: Durable
Cons: not enough fuel
Think it's a good buy. Wonder how long fuel will be offered.
Review 12 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3kids123
rocket car science
Date:November 5, 2012
This looks fun and was shipped quickly. It's for a gift so it has not been used.yet.
Review 13 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ScienceKids
Location:Bayside, NY
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Science == Fun
Date:October 12, 2012
Pros: High quality
Great way to introduce the science to younger children. Very engaging toy.
Review 14 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
farcrats
Location:Lehi, UT
Age:9-12
Relationship:Parent
Totally fun - can be a little tricky
Date:July 14, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable, already assembled and ready to go
Cons: can be difficult connect to the launch pad
Assembly is pretty much done. The kit is awesome and introduces the kids to chemical and physics principles while really having fun.
I would recommend several cars to add to the entertainment.
Make sure and have a hose ready to spray down all the baking soda stains on the road.
The tricky part is connecting the launch pad to the car while not mixing the active ingredients. The kids had a little trouble shoving them together nicely.
When they want together easily, we got good launches (40-60 yards). Otherwise 5 - 10 yards was all we'd get.
Overall - tons of fun. Great bear den activity
Review 15 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2kids2cars1wife
Location:Granby, CT
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
My 7 year old liked it
Date:June 20, 2012
Pros: Durable
My 7 year old son thought it was cool, even my 8 year old daughter. He keeps wanting to use it which is a good sign. It does need parental help with preparing. Some go far, some not, just depending on what you put in how well it mixes and the optimal time before lauching. One thing to note, that you can use just baking soda and vinegar. The car does come with an "acid" but it's only 5 packets (5 launches) so best to get out the vinegar for more launches. This toy has led into other experiments with vinegar and baking soda. My son now understand how the "pressure" is made by mixing the two.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
activefamily5
great learning toy, lots of fun
Date:June 20, 2012
easy, fun, exciting and educational! We helped our 6 year old boy with this and he had so much fun launching the car and seeing how far it would go. Approx 100-150ft
Review 17 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LarryT
Location:ChiTown
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
Fun with science
Date:June 20, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
This is a great toy that also is educational. Shh don't tell the kids! Make sure you buy extra refill packs, because they will want to do over and over. Definitely a great toy that is worth the price
Review 18 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anu06
Location:Dunwoody, GA
Age:6-8
Relationship:Parent
It is great !!
Date:May 21, 2012
Pros: High quality, Durable
It is a great product for kids who love to do experiments !!
Review 19 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Play value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deal4U
Location:Culpeper, VA
Age:9-12
Relationship:Grandparent
Great School Science Project!
Date:May 10, 2012
Pros: High quality
Cons: needs supervision
This product is a great way for a young person to learn what happens when you mix chemicals together and can teach them how powerful it can be. It will make a good school science project for my grandsons, as well as the fun and excitement of seeing how far this Hot Wheels Rocket Car will travel for them on flat surfaces. Easy instructions are very helpful too! Highly recommend the adult supervision.
Review 20 for HOT WHEELS Rocket Car Science Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age appropriateness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wendie
Location:Wisconsin
Age:6-8
Relationship:Grandparent
fun to build
Date:April 9, 2012
Pros: Durable
Kept my grandson busy when putting together and then he enjoyed playing with it. Good value and learning experience.
1 2 >>>